Guideposts vs. goals

The photograph is of a statement Seth Godin made in an interview. I’ve followed his work since 1998. He’s a contrarian thinker and I like the way he frames things. In this case, what we should be doing to bring real learning to our kids.

So much so that it made it on to the fridge, which means my wife agrees. This is a lens for looking at my kids in 2017.

It got me thinking about goals and guideposts. Not to say that I oppose setting goals. As I come of age, I find that having guideposts is much more intrinsically motivating than goals. They remind me of what I stand for and what my purpose is.

What are your guideposts?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

