Thinking

I love thinking. I have a space on the attic where I can do that. It leads to writing, to solutions for complex problems of clients, ideas, you name it.

But I also am very fortunate and grateful to have a few people I can take a drive out to – driving in and by itself is meditation for me, by the way – and sit down and think together. I drove out see a friend and colleague today just for that. And often, the best new stuff emerges from those conversations.

There’s banter, there’s discussion, even debate. But to me, inquiry or generative dialogue is the kind of conversation I love best. As Michael Lewis observed of Kahneman and Tversky: it’s rare but possible you meet someone who understands your thoughts better than you do when you first voice them. I’ve learned to pay close attention when that happens.

Who are your thinking-together partners?

Leave a Reply

