Inconvenient truths

A friend quoted from an article from RawStory, by Forsetti

“The real problem isn’t East Coast elites who don’t understand or care about rural America. The real problem is that rural Americans don’t understand the causes of their own situations and fears and they have shown no interest in finding out. They don’t want to know why they feel the way they do or why they are struggling because they don’t want to admit it is in large part because of the choices they’ve made and the horrible things they’ve allowed themselves to believe.”

That struck a chord, as it seemed to me that it could also read, when I read it to a CEO client of mine:

The real problem is that Americans don’t understand the causes of their own situations and fears and they have shown no interest in finding out. They don’t want to know why they feel the way they do or why they are struggling because they don’t want to admit it is in large part because of the choices they’ve made and the horrible things they’ve allowed themselves to believe.

Part of the American Dream is the cultural fabric teaches you that what you believe, you can achieve. A by-product of that is strongly held beliefs across the whole spectrum of society. Liberal Americans are just as culpable of having those and this probably also plays a big role in how divisive American society is at the moment.

In that same conversation we discussed the situation of a colleague. That took me to the next level of interpretation:

The real problem is that she doesn’t understand the causes of her own situation and fears and she has shown no interest in finding out. She doesn’t want to know why she feels the way she does or why she is struggling because she doesn’t want to admit it is in large part because of the choices she’s made and the things she’s allowed herself to believe.

After the conversation, I sat with it some more.

The real problem is that often I don’t understand the causes of my own situation and fears and I have to admit to myself I have shown no real interest in finding out.

Deep down, I don’t want to know why I feel the way I do or why I am struggling sometimes.

Because I don’t want to admit it is in large part because of the choices I’ve made and the things I’ve allowed myself to believe.

That’s my inconvenient truth.

 What’s your inconvenient truth?

Leave a Reply

